3 Surprising Realizations After Quitting My Job

Celebration, Shock, and Panic were not among them.

Spenser Warren
3 min readSep 10, 2021

--

Photo by Jackson David on Unsplash

Earlier this week, I quit my job without another job lined up.

Ironically, the last two articles I’ve published online were about the ‘Great Resignation,’ so you could say the topic was pretty embedded in my mind. The decision to resign wasn’t a sudden “eff you, I quit” moment. Rather, it was the culmination of several months of reflection on what I want to pursue next, as well as the opportunity to realize a dream I’ve had for years to go out on my own to pursue a living.

I’ll admit, I feel pretty privileged to even be in this position.

I’ve diligently saved money over the years, don’t have a family to support, and am very fortunate to have no debt hanging over my head.

While my decision to resign never felt more right, several realizations I’ve had since giving notice have surprised me. It hasn’t all been a major celebration. In fact, I wonder if that moment will ever come as I prepare to serve out my 4 week notice.

Here are 3 of the most surprising realizations I’ve had since resigning.

1. Giving notice feels like death

--

--

Spenser Warren

Career Empowerment Coach | Helping corporate leaders escape burnout to create career success on their own terms | 10 year HR Pro | Career Changer | Author