This HR Professional’s Story Confirmed What I’d Feared All Along About My Career

Spenser Warren
3 min readOct 30, 2021
Photo by Randy Laybourne on Unsplash

Yesterday, relaxing in bed with a book in hand, I finally discovered why I’d been frustrated for so many years at work.

It’s funny how another person’s story can change your entire outlook on life. That’s exactly what one story in Jonathan Fields’ recently released book, Sparked, did for me. But before I get to that, I should probably explain the fascinating concept behind the book and why I was reading it.

Sparked promises readers the ability to discover their unique imprint for work that makes them come alive.

This follows Fields’ popular online Sparketype assessment, which gives people insight into what type of work they like to do from a variety of categories, including Maker (my Primary Sparketype), Nurturer, Sage, Advisor, and Advocate (among others).

I found myself drawn to this book recently, seeking clarity for the next steps on my solopreneur journey. Writing has always appealed to me (as evidenced by writing 4 thriller books and the frequent essays and articles I put out), but I’ve still felt confusion over what I should do now that I left my job 3 weeks ago. I’ve considered offering consulting services in my old domain of HR/Compensation and have questioned what I should go to the market with first.

--

--

Spenser Warren

Career Empowerment Coach | Helping corporate leaders escape burnout to create career success on their own terms | 10 year HR Pro | Career Changer | Author